Buhari appoints Fashola, Malami, others power committee members


The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), on Thursday, inaugurated the Special Purpose Vehicle for Presidential Power Initiative.

It is to assist the government in improving the delivery of power in the country.

Members of the committee inaugurated by Buhari include the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mr Abubakar Malami (SAN),

the Minister of Finance, Budget, and National Planning, Mrs Zainab Ahmed; Minister of Power, Saleh Mamman; and Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola.

Read Also: Africa launches ‘genome’ laboratories for COVID-19

Malami’s spokesperson, Dr Umar Gwandu, stated that other members of the committee are the Director-General of Nigeria’s Bureau of Public Enterprise, Mr. Alex Okoh, and the President Nigerian Society of Engineers, Babagana Mohammed.

The statement added, “Inaugurating the Committee on Thursday, President Muhamamdu Buhari who described power sector as one of the most critical components of sustainable development, expressed commitment to improve the delivery of power in the country as his enduring and defining legacy.

“He said following the Federal Executive Council Approval, the coast is now clear.

The SPV has the responsibility of executing the Presidential Power Initiative (PPI), providing project management for the implementation of PPI.

And also serve as the key manager to ensure cohesion and seamless execution.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *